Five MIAA Women's Tennis Programs Garner ITA Academic Honors

Five MIAA Women's Tennis Programs Garner ITA Academic Honors

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced its honorees for both its 2018 All-Academic Teams and 2018 Scholar-Athletes, featuring five MIAA women's tennis programs and their student-athletes on the academic listing.

Led by 2018 Karen Caine Scholar-Athlete Award winner Alex Oswalt of Kalamazoo, six MIAA women's tennis players that gained All-MIAA honors or MIAA postseason honors were featured as ITA Scholar-Athletes. Saint Mary's Monica Davy and Kalamazoo's Maria Franco were first-team All-MIAA performers on the court.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners are factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year).


ITA 2018 All-Academic Teams & Scholar Athletes release


MIAA Student-Athletes and Teams Honored by ITA

Adrian - Amber Laginess, Renae Almasy, Elena Bishop, Makayla Jorgensen, Olivia Neumann - story link

Calvin - Madeline Brouwer, Larke Foote, Brittney Statema - story link

Kalamazoo - Maria Franco, Alex Oswalt, Julie Bachmann, Julie Riddle, Lisa Johnston - story link

Olivet - Rae Claramunt, Rachael Hager, Nicole Losey, Miranda Pier, Sydnie Weller - story link

Saint Mary's - Nicole Becker, Megan Davy, Monica Davy, Kelsey Kopf, Maddie Minaudo, Elizabeth Preister - story link