Five MIAA Men's Teams, 16 Student-Athletes Receive ITA Academic Accolades

Five MIAA Men's Teams, 16 Student-Athletes Receive ITA Academic Accolades

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) has announced the individuals and teams that received the national organization's Scholar-Athlete and All-Academic Team honors for the 2018-19 academic year. Sixteen MIAA student-athletes across five programs achieved the academic standards for Scholar-Athlete honors, while Calvin, Hope, Kalamazoo, Olivet, and Trine garnered All-Academic Team awards.

Hope's Michael Kiley, the Allan B. Stowe Memorial Award winner, was one of 16 MIAA student-athletes to be honored by the ITA.

MIAA men's tennis student-athletes honored for the second consecutive year were Calvin's Charlie Fahr; and Kalamazoo's Alex Cadigan and Zachary Ray.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners are factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year).


ITA 2019 All-Academic Teams & Scholar Athletes release (pdf)

MIAA Student-Athletes and Teams Honored by ITA

Calvin - Charlie Fahr, Kyrus Tsai, Max Stallings - story link

Hope - Justin Folkert, Michael Kiley, Christian Rhoades, Mark VanderStoep, Daniel Kroeze - story link

Kalamazoo - Alex Cadigan, Zachary Ray - story link

Olivet - Austin Briggs, Tyler Nobel - story link

Trine - Austin Balos, Adam Dills, Isaac Everitt, Blake Trusty - story link