Kalamazoo's Harrison Ramsey is a 2020 Finalist for the Yeardley Love Unsung Hero Award

Kalamazoo's Harrison Ramsey is a 2020 Finalist for the Yeardley Love Unsung Hero Award

Story and photo courtesy of Kalamazoo College Sports Information -- 

Kalamazoo College men's lacrosse player Harrison Ramsey was selected as a finalist for the 2020 Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award

A senior biology major from Okemos, Mich., Ramsey is one of five men's finalists from Division III and one of 26 combined men's and women's finalists across all three NCAA divisions. 

According to the announcement, the Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award is given by the One Love Foundation and recognizes the accomplishments of men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players from Divisions I, II, and III who demonstrate dedication, integrity, humility, hard work, community service, leadership, kindness, and sportsmanship - all qualities Yeardley Love exemplified throughout her life.

According to the One Love web site, One Love was founded in honor of Yeardley Love, a University of Virginia women's lacrosse player who tragically lost her life at 22. One Love educates young people about healthy and unhealthy relationships, empowering them to identify and avoid abuse and learn how to love better.

Six YRL Unsung Hero Award winners will be chosen, one from each division. 

2020 YRL Unsung Hero Finalists
Women's Division I
Ryan Bauer '20 - Old Dominion University
Maddie Clark '20 - University of Oregon
Samantha DeBillis '20 - Duke University
Halle Duenkel '20 - James Madison University
Lauren Martin '20 - University of Virginia
Men's Division I
Jackson Appelt '21 - University of Virginia
Robbie Garavente '20 -  Lafayette College
Peter Hollen '20 - University of Michigan
Peter Jones '20 - Fairfield University
Thomas Stevens '20 - University of Pennsylvania
Women's Division II
Abby Hammond '21 - Florida Southern College
Casey Shimborske '21- Mercy College
Courtney Wolf '23 - Holy Family University
Men's Division II
Stephen Hogan '20 - Chestnut Hill College
Collin McClelland '20 - Lynn University
Corey McAndrew '20 - Frostburg State University
Women's Division III
Katie Clark '20 - Rhodes College
Marietta Davis '21 - United States Coast Guard Academy
Maria Krieg '22 - Haverford College
Mekayla Montgomery '20 - Hobart & William Smith College
Chiamata Umani '22 - Colby College
Men's Division III
Spencer Kriss '22 - Washington and Lee University
Harrison Ramsey '20 - Kalamazoo College
Sean Smith '20 - Connecticut College
Gareth Ulmer '20 - Hope College
Zach Zavalick '20 - Wesleyan University