Hope's Gareth Ulmer is 2020 Finalist for the Yeardly Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award

Hope's Gareth Ulmer is 2020 Finalist for the Yeardly Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award

Story courtesy of Hope College Sports Information -- Hope College lacrosse player Gareth Ulmer has been selected as a finalist for the 2020 One Love Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award.

The senior from Delaware, Ohio (Rutherford B. Hayes HS) is Hope’s second finalist. John Hunger ‘18 was chosen as a NCAA Division III recipient in 2018.

One Love was established to honor Yeardley Love, a University of Virginia lacrosse player, after her death in 2010, with the mission to change the statistics around relationship abuse by giving every young person a foundational understanding of the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships.

The Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Award recognizes the accomplishments of six student-athletes who help their teams achieve success in ways that may not be measured in goals, saves, or ground balls. The honor places value on kindness and generosity, characteristics that are often undervalued in the competitively charged environment of college lacrosse.

Six recipients will be chosen, including at least one from each NCAA division.

Head coach Michael Schanhals said he is thrilled to see Ulmer chosen as a finalist. “I’m tremendously proud of the man Gareth has become, how mature he is. He’s been an excellent leader for us,” Schanhals said. “Yeardley Love and One Love is really important to us. It’s something special he has an opportunity like this.”

Ulmer is one of 26 finalists from all three NCAA divisions and one of 10 from Division III.


Unsung Hero Finalists

Women’s Division I

Ryan Bauer ‘20 - Old Dominion University
Maddie Clark ’20 - University of Oregon
Samantha DeBillis ’20 - Duke University
Halle Duenkel ’20 - James Madison University
Lauren Martin ’20 - University of Virginia

Men’s Division I

Jackson Appelt ’21 - University of Virginia
Robbie Garavente ’20 - Lafayette College
Peter Hollen ’20 - University of Michigan
Peter Jones ’20 - Fairfield University
Thomas Stevens ’20 - University of Pennsylvania

Women’s Division II

Abby Hammond ’21 - Florida Southern College
Casey Shimborske ’21- Mercy College
Courtney Wolf ’23 - Holy Family University

Men’s Division II

Stephen Hogan ’20 - Chestnut Hill College
Collin McClelland ’20 - Lynn University
Corey McAndrew ’20 - Frostburg State University

Women’s Division III

Katie Clark ’20 - Rhodes College
Marietta Davis ’21 - United States Coast Guard Academy
Maria Krieg ’22 - Haverford College
Mekayla Montgomery ’20 - Hobart & William Smith College
Chiamata Umani ’22 - Colby College

Men’s Division III

Spencer Kriss ’22 - Washington & Lee University
Harrison Ramsey ’20 - Kalamazoo College
Sean Smith ’20 - Connecticut College
Gareth Ulmer ’20 - Hope College
Zach Zavalick ’20 - Wesleyan University