All-MIAA - Football - 2019

All-MIAA - Football - 2019

At the conclusion of the 2019 Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association football regular season, head coaches from the MIAA's seven football-sponsoring institutions voted on All-MIAA awards.

Hope's Mason Opple garnered Most Valuable Player honors on offense, while teammate Mason Dekker was selected Most Valuable Player on defense. Albion senior Chase Bouschor was selected the Pete Schmidt Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award winner.

Opple, a senior quarterback, led Hope to a 7-0 MIAA season in 2019, averaging 119.1 yards passing per game and 90.4 yards rushing per game in MIAA competition. Opple, a two-time MIAA Player of the Week this season, led the MIAA with 11 rushing touchdowns in seven MIAA games. Opple also registered eight touchdown passes in MIAA play compared to no interceptions.

Dekker, a senior linebacker, registered 28.0 tackles in MIAA play this season, including 22 solo tackles. Dekker also tallied three tackles for loss, including one sack, and added an interception in leading Hope's defense in allowing 14.9 points per game against MIAA opponents.

Bouschor, a senior with a 3.8 grade-point average, is working towards a degree in psychology and sociology. Bouschor is a lead mentor in helping first-generation college students at Albion adjust to college, and also is active in the community. The Pete Schmidt Memorial Scholar-Athlete award has been presented every year since 2001 honoring the legacy of Pete Schmidt, an Alma College alumni and Albion College football coach who died of cancer in 2000.

Opple and Bouschor along with Trine's Simeon Washington garnered All-MIAA honors for the third time in their careers.


Most Valuable Player, Offense

Mason Opple, Sr., Hope

Most Valuable Player, Defense

Mason Dekker, Sr., Hope

Pete Schmidt Award

Chase Bouschor, Sr., Albion

2019 Football All-MIAA First Team

First Team - Offense

QB — Mason Opple, Sr., Hope (3)

RB — Kenyea Houston, So., Hope

RB — Noah McMinn, Sr., Olivet

WR — Christian Bos, Sr., Hope (2)

WR — Justin Thomas, So., Albion (2)

WR — Henry Wilson, Jr., Adrian

TE — Joe Cleary, Sr., Adrian

OL — Chase Bouschor, Sr., Albion (3)

OL — Jarod Bush, Sr., Olivet

OL — Tim Ivery, Sr., Hope (2)

OL — Zach Smith, Sr., Hope (2)

OL — Dan Waber, Sr., Olivet


First Team - Defense

DL — Mitch Arendsen, Jr., Albion (2)

DL — Jake Babb, Sr., Hope

DL — Noah Coplan, Jr., Kalamazoo (2)

DL — Miguel Manion, Sr., Olivet

LB — Mason Dekker, Sr., Hope (2)

LB — Zeke Ramirez, Sr., Alma (2)

LB — Simeon Washington, Sr., Trine (3)

LB — Kolby Williams, Sr., Olivet

DB — Luke Beckhusen, Sr., Hope (2)

DB — Tyrone Collins, Fr., Albion

DB — Anthony Merriman, So., Olivet

DB — Isaiah Moon, Fr., Olivet


First Team - Special Teams

P — Austin Heeres, Sr., Hope

RS — Chase Hinkle, Sr., Alma

K — Cooper West, So., Adrian

2019 Football All-MIAA Second Team

Second Team - Offense

QB — Jack Wurzer, So., Adrian

RB — Markell McKoy, Sr., Albion

RB — Connor Mellon, Jr., Hope

WR — Seth Boggs, Sr., Trine

WR — Cooper Cecchini, Sr., Hope

TE — Seth Young, So., Olivet

OL — Noah de Velder, Sr., Hope

OL – Brady Eding, Jr., Hope

OL — Jacob Headlee, Sr., Alma

OL — Lige McKinney, Sr., Albion (2)

OL — Matt Pillow, Fr., Adrian

OL — Noah Routson, Sr., Trine


Second Team - Defense

DL — Malik Bozell, Sr., Albion

DL — Josh Martin, Jr., Kalamazoo

DL — Mason McFarland, Sr., Trine (2)

DL — Jake Windenhouse, Sr., Alma

LB — Taylor Bonetti, Jr., Finlandia

LB — Jeremiah Purnell, Jr., Hope

LB — Donovan Slates, Jr., Albion

DB — Damian Bowker, So., Trine

DB — Max Kretzschmar, Sr., Alma

DB — Brandon Kwiatkowski, So., Adrian

DB — Shawn Starks, Sr., Adrian

DB — Jake Sypniewski, Jr., Kalamazoo


Second Team - Special Teams

K — Josh Castillo, Fr., Albion

RS — Anthony Giovanni, Sr., Kalamazoo

K — Greg Kearns, Jr., Kalamazoo


(#) Number of multi-time All-MIAA, including career first- and second-team honors