MIAA Swimmers Qualify for NCAA Championship

MIAA Swimmers Qualify for NCAA Championship

On Wednesday, the NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Committee announced the individuals and relays that have been invited to the 2018 NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championships.

Three MIAA schools will be represented in the pool: Albion, Calvin, and Hope. Both 2018 MIAA Swimmers of the Year, Calvin's Ben Holstege and Abby Van Harn, will compete in both individual and relays for the Knights. Joining Holstege (100 Back) as men's individual qualifiers are teammate Jared Britton (50 Free) and Albion's Nate Kozycki (100 Fly). Kozycki is ranked third heading into the NCAAs for his event, while Holstege is seventh in the 100 back.

Van Harn has qualified for all three Freestyle sprint distances, while teammate Anna Serino will join Van Harn in the 200 Free. Hope's Meghan Peel earned invitations for both the 100 and 200 Back. Van Harn's time of 50.04 in the 100 free is the top in NCAA Division III heading into the NCAA Championship; her 50 time ranks fourth and 200 mark is 10th in the nation. Peel's time in the 200 back is sixth overall.

MIAA relay teams are Calvin women in all three Free relays, with Hope women qualifying in the 400 Medley relay; Calvin's Free Relay times from the season are all in the top 10 in their respective events heading into the national championships. On the men's side, Calvin qualified in the 200 and 400 Free relays and 200 and 400 Medley relays; Albion's 200 Medley relay will also compete after posting the ninth-fastest time in the nation this season.

Divers will compete at regional events March 2-3, with top performers earning berths to the NCAA Championships.

The championships will be held March 21-24 at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis. Franklin College and the Indiana Sports Corporation will serve as co-hosts. 

UPDATE (3/2, 4:30 p.m.) Olivet's Ana Paula Montes de Oca will also compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championships; her provisional qualifying time of 17:17.24 in the 1650 free will allow her to compete at the national championship.

A live video stream of all sessions of the NCAA Championships can be viewed on ncaa.com.


NCAA Announcement

Men's Swimming Meet Selections (pdf)

Women's Swimming Meet Selections (pdf)


MIAA Men's Swimming NCAA Qualifiers

50 Free – Jared Britton, Calvin

100 Back – Ben Holstege, Calvin

100 Fly – Nate Kozycki, Albion

200 Free Relay – Calvin (Jared Britton, Skyler Fish, Ben Holstege, Julian Iturbe)

400 Free Relay – Calvin (Jared Britton, Max De Young, Ben Holstege, Julian Iturbe)

200 Medley Relay – Albion (Scott Ciemniecki, Tyler Kimbrell, Nate Kozycki, Alec Nyboer)

200 Medley Relay – Calvin (Jared Britton, Ben Holstege, Jacob Lensing, Tanner Vincent)

400 Medley Relay – Calvin (Jared Britton, Ben Holstege, Julian Iturbe, Tanner Vincent)


MIAA Women's Swimming NCAA Qualifiers

50 Free – Abby Van Harn, Calvin

100 Free – Abby Van Harn, Calvin

200 Free – Abby Van Harn, Calvin; Anna Serino, Calvin

100 Back – Meghan Peel, Hope

200 Back – Meghan Peel, Hope

200 Free Relay – Calvin (Emily Gunderson, Rachel Mattson, Madelyn Smith, Abby Van Harn)

400 Free Relay – Calvin (Elizabeth Engle, Rachel Mattson, Madelyn Smith, Abby Van Harn)

800 Free Relay – Calvin (Elizabeth Engle, Anna Serino, Madelyn Smith, Abby Van Harn)

400 Medley Relay – Hope (Sydney Asselin, Chloe Palajac, Meghan Peel, Emma Schaefer)