The 2012-13 season marked the 125th anniversary of America's oldest collegiate conference. Click on this site for stories highlighting outstanding student-athletes, coaches and teams from throughout the MIAA's rich and vast history. Click here for more.
 

Kalamazoo College

Official Kalamazoo Home Page | Kalamazoo Athletics Page

About Kalamazoo College

Kalamazoo College is a private, four year, coeducational college of liberal arts and sciences. Founded in 1833, it is among the 100 oldest colleges and universities in the nation, and remains dynamic to this day.

The College's 1,340 students come from 38 states and 14 countries. Kalamazoo has an exceptional teaching faculty; 92 percent hold doctorates or other terminal degrees in their fields. The student-faculty ratio of 12-to-1 allows for small classes and personal attention to individual needs. Many faculty conduct research or other scholarship projects in partnership with their undergraduate students.

The College is nationally recognized for creating the K-Plan, an unparalleled program that combines optional off-campus career development internships and externships with a rigorous program of on-campus courses and a senior individualized project. In addition, about 80 percent of Kalamazoo College graduates study abroad as part of their liberal arts education.

Kalamazoo College offers 28 majors, 24 minors, and several concentrations and special programs. In particular, the College is noted for its strength in the sciences, foreign languages, and service learning projects.

The Facts

Located: Kalamazoo, Michigan 49006
MIAA Member: from spring of 1896 to date
Athletic Office phone: (269) 337-7082
FAX: (269) 337-7401

Enrollment: 1,340
Colors: Orange (PMS152) & Black
Nickname: Hornets

President:  Dr. Eileen Wilson-Oyelaran < wilsonoy@kzoo.edu >
 
Chair of Physical Education: Jeanne Hess < jhess@kzoo.edu >
Director of Athletics: 
Kristen Smith < kristens@kzoo.edu >
Assistant Athletic Director/Senior Woman Administrator: Kathy Milliken < milliken@kzoo.edu >
Assistant Athletic Director: 
Mark Murphy < mmurphy@kzoo.edu >
Assisant Athletic Director: 
Jamie Zorbo < jzorbo@kzoo.edu >
Assistant Athletic Director/Sports Information and Marketing:  Steve Wideen < swideen@kzoo.edu >
Assistant Sports Information Director: Mitch Blankespoor < mblankes@kzoo.edu >

Office: (269) 337-7287
FAX: (269) 337-7401

The Coaches

Baseball:  Mike Ott < mott@kzoo.edu >
Men's Basketball:  Eric Dougal < eric.dougal@kzoo.edu >
Women's Basketball:  Katie Miller < kmiller@kzoo.edu >
Cross Country:  David Dimcheff < dimcheff@kzoo.edu >
Football:  Jamie Zorbo < jzorbo@kzoo.edu >
Men's Golf:  Mitch Wilson < mwilson@kzoo.edu >
Women's Golf:  Dean Marks < jabbergolf@aol.com >
Women's Lacrosse: Emilia Ward < eward@kzoo.edu >
Men's Soccer:  Lumumba Shabazz < lshabazz@kzoo.edu >
Women's Soccer:  Bryan Goyings < bgoyings@kzoo.edu >
Softball:  Sue Mattice < smattice@kzoo.edu>
Swimming (M & W):  Kathy Milliken < milliken@kzoo.edu >
Men's Tennis:  Mark Riley < mriley@kzoo.edu >
Women's Tennis:  Mark Murphy < mmurphy@kzoo.edu >
Volleyball:  Jeanne Hess < jhess@kzoo.edu >
 
Head Athletic Trainer:  Kira Olds < kolds@kzoo.edu >
Assistant Athletic Trainer:  Daniel Krasinski < daniel.krasinski@kzoo.edu >