Historical information (standings and statistics) about America's oldest collegiate conference is being added to this website with the addition of archival material dating back to the founding years in each of the 20 league-sponsored sports. This is a work in progress.

Watch this space during the 2014-15 school year for interesting historical anecdotes. Click here for more.
 

Hope College

Official Hope Home Page | Hope Athletics Page

About Hope College

Hope College, a member of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association since 1926, successfully balances highly regarded academic and intercollegiate programs.

Since its founding, Hope College has been affiliated with the Reformed Church in America. The student body represents a broad cross section of faiths. Hope College occupies a special place in the vast array of higher education opportunities offered in the United States. The college makes its contribution through the distinctiveness of its educational philosophy and program.

Undergraduate research in all disciplines is a nationally recognized hallmark of the Hope academic experience. The faculty takes its teaching through active learning seriously. As a liberal arts college offering an education within the context of the historic Christian faith, Hope is a place of open inquiry, acceptance of intellectual challenge, rigorous engagement with hard questions, and vigorous but civil discussion of different beliefs and understandings.

Hope is among a select group of colleges highlighted in the book "Putting Students First: How Colleges Develop Students Purposefully." The institutions were included specifically for being "individually and collectively distinguished and distinctive in fostering holistic student development."

In 2013-14 Hope serves over 3,300 undergraduate students who come from 42 states and 28 foreign countries. The curriculum offers courses in 90 majors, leading to a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Science, or Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree.

Fielding 20 intercollegiate sports, ten for men and ten for women, Hope has received the MIAA Commissioner's Cup a record 34 times for having the best cumulative finish in league-sponsored sports. Hope also sponsors a club team in men's ice hockey.

The Richard and Helen DeVos Fieldhouse has been the site of several NCAA Division III championships since it opened in 2005-06.

The Facts

Location: Holland, Michigan 49423
MIAA Member: from fall of 1926 to date
Athletic Office phone:  (616) 395-7070
FAX:  (616) 395-7175

Enrollment: 3,325
Colors: Hope Blue (PMS289) & Orange (PMS166)
Nickname: Flying Dutchmen (Men), Flying Dutch (Women)

President:  Dr. John C. Knapp < knapp@hope.edu >
Co-Director of Athletics:  Tim Schoonveld < schoonveld@hope.edu >
Co-Director of Athletics:  Melinda Larson < larson@hope.edu >
 
Sports Information Director:  Alan Babbitt < babbitt@hope.edu >
Athletic Ticket Manager:  Anne Bakker < abakker@hope.edu >

Office: (616) 395-7860
FAX: (616) 395-7991

The Coaches

Baseball:  Stuart Fritz < fritz@hope.edu >
Men's Basketball:  Greg Mitchell < mitchell@hope.edu >
Women's Basketball:  Brian Morehouse < morehouse@hope.edu >
Cross Country:  Mark Northuis < northuis@hope.edu >
Football:  Dean Kreps < kreps@hope.edu >
Men's Golf:  Bob Ebels < rebels@chartermi.net >
Women's Golf:  Greg Stafford < stafford@hope.edu >
Men's Lacrosse: Mike Schanhals < schanhals@hope.edu >
Women's Lacrosse: Kim Vincent < vincentk@hope.edu >
Men's Soccer:  Steve Smith < sdsmith@hope.edu >
Women's Soccer:  Leigh Sears < sears@hope.edu >
Softball:  Mary Vande Hoef < vandehoef@hope.edu >
Swimming:  John Patnott < patnott@hope.edu >
Men's Tennis:  Steve Gorno < steven.m.gorno@jci.com >
Women's Tennis:  Adam Ford < ford@hope.edu >
Men's Track:  Kevin Cole < cole@hope.edu >
Women's Track:  Kevin Cole < cole@hope.edu >
Volleyball:  Becky Schmidt < schmidt@hope.edu >
 
Athletic Trainer:  Tim Koberma <  koberma@hope.edu >