The 2012-13 season marked the 125th anniversary of America's oldest collegiate conference. Click on this site for stories highlighting outstanding student-athletes, coaches and teams from throughout the MIAA's rich and vast history. Click here for more.
 

Albion College

Official Albion Home Page | Albion Athletics Page

About Albion College

Located in the heart of the city of Albion, Albion College is an independent, coeducational, residential college founded in 1835.

Albion’s innovative liberal arts curriculum includes the First-Year Experience; majors and minors; Institutes, Centers, and Programs; and the Foundation for Undergraduate Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity (FURSCA).

The Albion Advantage is an enhanced four-year model of education for all Albion students. Grounded in the liberal arts tradition, the Advantage helps students to realize their professional goals through thoughtful integration of academic and experience-based learning opportunities. The program aims to support students in developing their talents as distinctive young professionals who will be competitive in the dynamic global marketplace.

The College’s strength is the quality of its faculty and students. Ninety-five percent of the faculty have earned a Ph.D. or the highest appropriate professional degree in their field. They are active in scholarly research and other professional endeavors, and often integrate that work into their teaching. Albion College students also are well qualified. Over the past five years, 70 percent have ranked in the top quarter of their high school graduating class. In the past 10 years, the College has produced a George J. Mitchell Scholar (the "Irish Rhodes"), nine Fulbright grant winners, five National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellows, three Udall Scholars, and a National Institutes of Health Undergraduate Scholar.

Beyond the majors, minors and concentrations offered by academic departments, students have the opportunity to obtain real-world experience and prepare for a career through the Prentiss M. Brown Honors Program, the Gerald R. Ford Institute for Leadership in Public Policy and Service, the Carl A. Gerstacker Institute for Business and Management, the Institute for Premedical Professions and Health Sciences, the Center for Sustainability and the Environment, and the Fritz Shurmur Center for Teacher Development.

The Facts

Located: Albion, Michigan 49224
MIAA Member: continuously from league founding in 1888
Athletic Office phone:  (517) 629-0900
FAX: (517) 629-1648

Enrollment: 1,925
Colors:  Purple (PMS268) & Gold (PMS124)
Nickname: Britons

President (Interim):  Dr. Michael Frandsen < mfrandsen@albion.edu >
Chancellor:  Dr. Donna Randall < drandall@albion.edu >
Director of Athletics Matt Arend < marend@albion.edu >
Senior Associate Athletic Director/Senior Women's Administrator Melissa Walton < mwalton@albion.edu >
Associate Athletic Director Greg Polnasek < gpolnasek@albion.edu >
Associate Athletic Director Jerry Block < jblock@albion.edu >
Sports Information Director:  Bobby Lee < blee@albion.edu >

Office: (517) 629-0434
FAX: (517) 629-0566

The Coaches

Baseball:  Scott Carden < scarden@albion.edu >
Men's Basketball:  Jody May < jmay@albion.edu >
Women's Basketball:  Doreen Carden < dcarden@albion.edu >
Men's Cross Country:  Hayden Smith < hsmith@albion.edu >
Women's Cross Country:    Hayden Smith < hsmith@albion.edu >
Football:  Craig Rundle < crundle@albion.edu >
Men's Golf:  Jordan McArleton < jmcarleton@albion.edu >
Women's Golf:  Jordan McArleton < jmcarleton@albion.edu >
Men's Lacrosse: Jacob DeCola < jdecola@albion.edu >
Women's Lacrosse: Shanta Loecker < sloecker@albion.edu >
Men's Soccer:  Jerry Block < jblock@albion.edu >
Women's Soccer:  Eric Scott < escott@albion.edu >
Softball:  Christina Finch < cfinch@albion.edu>
Swimming and Diving:  Jake Taber < jtaber@albion.edu >
Tennis:  Keith Turner < kturner@albion.edu >
Men's Track:  Lance Coleman < lcoleman@albion.edu >
Women's Track:  Lance Coleman < lcoleman@albion.edu >
Volleyball:  Kristin Slamer < kslamer@albion.edu>
 
Athletic Trainer:  Andy Lawrence <  >